Texas allows concealed handguns to be legally carried with a CHL (concealed handgun license) issued by Texas or by a state, which Texas recognizes. If a license holder is in possession of a concealed handgun, they must produce their concealed weapons license along with another valid identification upon the demand of a police officer. Private property owners are allowed to prohibit the carrying of concealed handguns on their property if they provide proper legal notice of trespassing by a CHL holder with a concealed handgun given. Notice may be given verbally or in writing with a statutory warning or by signage with the statutory warning in English and Spanish, in one-inch high block letters posted in a conspicuous place. Further, even with a CHL, these weapons may not be carried concealed under the following circumstances. Concealed Weapons May Not Be Permitted Under These Circumstances A concealed handgun
Bail bond reinstatement is the process wherein the court reinstates the bail that’s been previously revoked. If the bond was forfeited due to a defendant’s violation of their conditions of bail, in some cases, the defendant’s lawyer may be able to file a bail remission motion to have the bond money that was forfeited refunded. The bail is no longer forfeited however a nominal fee may be charged to process the reinstatement. The court also dismisses the bench warrant issued after the bail was revoked. Reinstatement of bail bonds varies by court jurisdiction. A few things come into factor on whether or not bond can be reinstated in your case. It will depend on the charges of the crime, how long it’s been since the bond was forfeited, and whether the court judge has reason to refund the bond. Since criminal cases can be very complicated it is generally a
Happy Presidents Day from Gage Gandy Bail Bonds! Please stay safe out on the roads and don't drink and drive!
To many, the bail bond process may seem a complicated process full of terms and words that have meanings other than what you’re used to. This article will define a few common terms one might come across during the process of dealing with a bail bondsman. Premium Payments The bail bond premium is the cost to post a bail bond, which in many states is restricted by law to 10% of the bond amount. For example, if a bond were set at $10,000, a $1000 premium would be paid to the bail bond company in exchange for posting the bail bond and releasing the defendant from custody. Cash, check, or credit cards are usually used to pay the bail bond premium. The premium amount is non-refundable and fully earned upon release of the defendant, regardless of the final disposition of the defendant’s case. Paying a bond premium to a bail
There are a few circumstances in which one can get a felony expunged. "Expungement" is the legal process by which a court removes or erases all records of a criminal conviction, even if it is a felony conviction. Your conviction will not simply disappear on its own even if you wait 10 or 20 years - you have to take action. As a result, if you wish to remove a felony from your record and you are eligible to do so under the laws of the state in which you were convicted, you will have to obtain a court order. Expungement laws differ throughout the nation. In Texas, you can have a felony expunged from your record in the following circumstances: You were arrested but never charged. You were charged, but the case was dismissed for lack of probable cause, insufficient evidence or unavailable witnesses. The grand jury “no-billed” your
First lets go over what a misdemeanor is. Misdemeanors are criminal offenses that carry up to a year in jail in most states. Misdemeanors in Texas are crimes punishable by up to one year in local or county jail. Misdemeanors are categorized as Class A, B, or C. Punishment for misdemeanors can also include payment of a fine, probation, community service, and restitution. Defendants charged with misdemeanors are often entitled to a jury. Indigent defendants charged with misdemeanors are usually entitled to legal representation at government expense. Some states subdivide misdemeanors by class or degree or define more serious misdemeanor offenses as "gross misdemeanors." These classifications determine the severity of punishment. Categories of Misdemeanors Class A Misdemeanor In Texas, class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $4,000, or both jail time and a fine. Some examples of Class A Misdemeanors
Lets begin by defining what exactly a felony is. In Texas, felonies are crimes punishable by terms that must be served in state prison or state jail. Unlike the less serious crimes (misdemeanors) which are punishable by up to one year in local or county jail. Felonies in Texas are designated as capital felonies; first, second or third degree felonies; or state jail felonies. Capitol Felony In Texas, capital felonies are punishable by death or life without parole. Murder is an example of a capital felony. If the defendant was a juvenile at the time the crime was committed and the prosecutor chooses not to seek the death penalty, then a capital felony is punishable by life imprisonment. Examples of Capitol Felonies Murder of a police officer, firefighter, correctional officer, judge, or prison guard Murder of more than one person at once or during the same course of conduct Murder
The system of posting money or property in exchange for temporary release pending a trial dates back to 13th century England. The commercial practice of offering bail bonds arose out of a need to balance the playing field among the rich, middle, and poor classes when individuals were accused of a crime. Bondsmen will accept a percentage of the bail needed and post the rest for someone who has been charged with a crime and is awaiting trial. In the past, only those who had enough money and property to post as security were lucky enough to secure temporary release pending their trials. Entrepreneurs eventually realized that with enough capital, they could offer this security to the court in a defendant’s name after receiving a percentage of the amount as insurance. There are extra fees involved when using a commercial bond service, which is how the organization profits from this
It is only natural to wish that bail money would be something that is deductible on an annual tax return. However, even though technically it is money that is paid to a government entity, it isn’t a “tax” at all. Rather, it is a type of fine and a guarantee that the individual will show up for their assigned court date. So even if the bailiff uses the term “bail tax,” it will not be deductible. What Is The Bail Money For? If you have been arrested and jailed and want to get out of jail to go live at home and spend time not behind jail bars until your court date you can post what is called “bail money” to do so. This money is seen as a guarantee that you will show up for your scheduled court date. Posting Bail Yourself VS Using a Bond
The Zero Tolerance Law specifies that if a minor has ANY detectable amount of alcohol in his or her system while operating a vehicle in public, the minor has committed the criminal offense of DUI. The minor's drivers license is immediately suspended and the officer can take the license on site. Zero Tolerance laws make it a criminal DUI offense for drivers under the age of 21 to drive with even a small amount of alcohol in their system, ranging from 0.00 to 0.02 percent BAC depending on the state. In Texas, a strong stance is taken against underage driving and the regulations are referred to as Zero Tolerance Law. When Texas says Zero Tolerance, they mean it. This prohibits an underage driver from having any amount of alcohol in their system that is detectable. While some states prohibit a certain BAC level, the state doesn't provide much wiggle room.