DUI and DWI

/DUI and DWI

What is Zero Tolerance regarding a DUI?

The Zero Tolerance Law specifies that if a minor has ANY detectable amount of alcohol in his or her system while operating a vehicle in public, the minor has committed the criminal offense of DUI. The minor's drivers license is immediately suspended and the officer can take the license on site. Zero Tolerance laws make it a criminal DUI offense for drivers under the age of 21 to drive with even a small amount of alcohol in their system, ranging from 0.00 to 0.02 percent BAC depending on the state. In Texas, a strong stance is taken against underage driving and the regulations are referred to as Zero Tolerance Law. When Texas says Zero Tolerance, they mean it. This prohibits an underage driver from having any amount of alcohol in their system that is detectable. While some states prohibit a certain BAC level, the state doesn't provide much wiggle room.

By | January 28th, 2017|Categories: DUI and DWI|0 Comments

What is Public Intoxication?

Under Texas law, people commit the misdemeanor crime of public intoxication if they appear in a public place while intoxicated to a degree that they may endanger themselves or another person. The Texas public intoxication law defines “intoxication” for purposes of the crime as having a blood-alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. It is not illegal to have a few drinks and then walk around town enjoying the Texas breeze and local hospitality. Just as long as you don’t disrupt others who might be trying to enjoy the same beautiful sights Texas has to offer. If you find yourself bumping into others or stepping on someone’s shoes one too many times you could find yourself having a very un-enjoyable conversation with the local law. If a police officer reasonably believes a person is intoxicated and then conducts a pat-down search that reveals other grounds for arrest, that evidence can be

By | January 22nd, 2017|Categories: DUI and DWI|0 Comments

What is a Felony?

According to Merriam Webster Dictionary, In US law, a felony is typically defined as a crime punishable by a term of imprisonment of not less than one year or by the death penalty. Misdemeanors, in contrast, are often defined as offenses punishable only by fines or by short terms of imprisonment in local jails. In addition to felonies and misdemeanors there is a third category referred to as a Petty Offence. Petty offenses are sometimes called violations and are usually punished by a fine with no jail time. Often times they are handled by magistrates in municipal courts and the entire process typically takes no longer than a day. A defendant is notified that he's being charged with a petty offense by issuance of a ticket, which specifies the court date and the fine that will be judged. Jury trials are not available for petty offenses. Originally, in English law,

By | January 16th, 2017|Categories: DUI and DWI|0 Comments

What are the College Station DUI laws?

Each State within the United States has been given the authority to write their own laws in regards to Driving Under the Influence, or better known as DUI. Texas enforces a strict zero tolerance law when it comes to DUI’s and prohibits drivers under 21 years old from having any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. Police officers in the College Station area are very aggressive in charging college students for this type of offense and have taken a “Take No Prisoners” approach to dealing with this very serious offence. The consequences of a conviction for an underage alcohol-related driving offense are severe. They can follow you throughout your college career and beyond, with the potential to limit your graduate, employment, loan and housing opportunities. While under the influence of alcohol or drugs your vision, reasoning, along with your mental capacity to make important decisions and judgments are severely

By | January 13th, 2017|Categories: DUI and DWI|0 Comments

Can I get a DUI if I’m parked?

 To keep it simple, yes you can. When an officer sees someone in his or her car, even if it is not moving, and he or she makes the determination that this person had the intent to drive, he or she may end up being cited for DUI. Although by law, circumstantial evidence is required. Circumstantial Evidence for a DUI while parked The law demands proof of your volitional movement of a car before being convicted of a DUI, though circumstantial evidence is sufficient to establish this vital element. Circumstantial evidence that may prove you were driving include: Warm engine Warm tires Keys in the ignition Car in the middle of the roadway Vehicle damaged and next to the scene of an accident Gear is in drive Your failure to explain the absence of an alternate driver if you deny being the driver or to give a credible explanation of where the driver is or the driver’s

By | January 9th, 2017|Categories: DUI and DWI|0 Comments

Can I get a DUI for driving a boat?

Every state and the federal government have laws against Boating Under the Influence ('BUI') that allow law enforcement officials to stop boats and other watercraft, and make sure that boat operators and their passengers are safe enough to be allowed on the water. The power to make and enforce BUI laws is left up to each state. BUI laws are much like driving under the influence (DUI) laws that were enacted to help keep drivers, passengers, and the community safe. Operators who have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% percent or greater are considered intoxicated. Being charged with a BUI can have serious financial consequences, and can put your legal freedom at stake. Much like being charged with a DUI you could have a criminal record, face jail time, incur heavy monetary fines, and face increased boater and auto insurance rates. Why are BUI laws important? BUI regulations exist to

By | January 7th, 2017|Categories: DUI and DWI|0 Comments

7 Things to know about DUI checkpoints

What is a DUI checkpoint? DUI checkpoints also known, as sobriety checkpoints are quite common and you might encounter them more often than you’d like. They function as a general-purpose investigatory tactic that allows for police officers to get a close look at passing motorists by detaining them briefly. A roadblock stop is usually quick, but it gives the police a chance to check tags and licenses, while also giving police officers a quick whiff of the driver’s breath and glance at the drivers eye’s. It also gives the officer a chance to peer into the vehicle for a quick moment. Based on the results you are either allowed to continue driving or will be booked for a DUI. A DUI checkpoint can be just a place where one or more law enforcement officers are stationed and stop certain vehicles based on a preselected numeric value, like every third vehicle.

By | January 6th, 2017|Categories: arrested, DUI and DWI|0 Comments