Each State within the United States has been given the authority to write their own laws in regards to Driving Under the Influence, or better known as DUI. Texas enforces a strict zero tolerance law when it comes to DUI’s and prohibits drivers under 21 years old from having any detectable amount of alcohol in their system.
Police officers in the College Station area are very aggressive in charging college students for this type of offense and have taken a “Take No Prisoners” approach to dealing with this very serious offence.
The consequences of a conviction for an underage alcohol-related driving offense are severe. They can follow you throughout your college career and beyond, with the potential to limit your graduate, employment, loan and housing opportunities.
While under the influence of alcohol or drugs your vision, reasoning, along with your mental capacity to make important decisions and judgments are severely hindered and not capable of coherently being able to operate a vehicle. Since everyone is different and we all have different tolerance levels for alcohol it is impossible for law enforcement to say what the exact amount of drinks it takes to be considered intoxicated.
For this reason law enforcement will perform chemical tests on suspecting DUI offenders. Texas has what is known as an implied consent law. This means that if you are pulled over and asked to take a chemical test and you refuse to submit to the test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension.
In Texas, you have only 15 days after a drunk driving arrest to request a hearing to save your drivers’ license. Losing a drivers’ license can be a major roadblock and make your everyday task much more difficult and time consuming.
If you do not request such hearing, or if you fail to appear for the hearing, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended.
What are the penalties in regards to DUI’s?
The penalties for refusing to take the chemical test are:
- First Offense: 180 day license suspension
- Second Offense: 2 years license suspension
- Third Offense: 2 year license suspension
The penalties for being found guilty of a DUI in Texas are:
Time in jail
- First Offense: 3 to 180 days
- Second Offense: 30 days to 1 year
- Third Offense: 2 years
- First Offense: Up to $2,000 (unless a child under 15 is in car)
- Second Offense: Up to $4,000 (unless a child under 15 is in car)
- Third Offense: Up to $10,000
Suspension of license
- First Offense: 90 to 365 days
- Second Offense: 180 days to 2 years
- Third Offense: 180 days to 2 years
Additional probation and Court mandated conditions that may occur.
- Installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device on any car, which you intend to drive during probation. The device requires a breath sample before it will allow your car to start.
- Attendance at AA or other alcohol treatment programs offered through the probation department.
- The court may require that a person not consume any alcohol during probation.
This is a general article for example purposes. As always, please contact us at 979-821-2663 regarding your specific case.